Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

First Post

I feel like I need to write an initial post explaining why I’m starting this blog. Everything needs an introduction, right?

Well, like many people I’ve found myself spending far too much time on Pinterest and other similar sites. I’ve been gathering way too many ideas about how to decorate my house, food to make, tips for parenting the kids I don’t even have yet, wedding decorations, work out moves, and so much more. My best friend got married right around the time I started using Pinterest, so i of course had to try to make several things out of lace, string lanterns, and paper flowers. They looked so cute on the blogs, but then somehow when I made them, I found myself with soggy lace and giant puddles of glue/water mixture on the floor. Ooops. Next came my biggest challenge and obsession – the cookie bowl. If you’ve been on Pinterest, you’ve probably seen it. It seems so genius – all you have to do is put cookie dough on a muffin tin, bake, and flip over. Presto! you have a bowl for ice cream made from a chocolate chip cookie. Sigh… if only it were that easy. I have tried this (to the dismay of my husband) about 5 times. Each time, tweaking the way I do it, changing the recipe, greasing or not greasing the pan, I even went out and bought a special “cookie bowl pan” (which my husband calls “the fancy muffin tin”). No matter what I try, I fail. I’ve had to promise my husband not to try for a while, because I’ve wasted so much cookie dough trying these darn things.

On the flip side, I have found so many fun and amazing ideas on Pinterest. While perusing the site (and by that I mean wasting way too much time on it) I have found super cute wedding ideas, incredibly tasty recipes, tips for maintaining an organized home, lesson plans to use in my classroom, and tons of other helpful things!

The past few weeks I’ve started commenting on my pins about how things went when I tried them – hoping to remind myself whether or not the idea was a success or a failure, and also hopefully encourage or warn fellow Pinners. The downside though, is that it’s hard to tell the whole story in a comment – and I have some great pictures to go along with my comments. So, tonight, I’ve decided to start a blog. This is a space for me to share my creative attempts and report back on how it all went. I figure, why not give it a try?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2012 by in Introduction and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

