Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Butter & Brown Sugar Roasted Sweet Potatoes

The Pin: 

(Click to follow pin to the recipe)

The Verdict: Success

These potatoes were pretty easy to make. Just chopping, and adding a few ingredients, then stirring, and baking… pretty simple. Overall they were tasty. They were basically chunks of sweet potato, with quite a bit of cinnamon on them and a nice sweetness from the brown sugar. They were fairly dry on the outside, but still soft and tender in the middle, so I didn’t mind. I think I always expect sweet potatoes to have the juicy aspect of marshmallow or creamy Thanksgiving sweet potatoes. These didn’t, which I actually appreciated for a simple dinner side.

I will warn you though, if you don’t love cinnamon, you may want to go lighter on the cinnamon. My husband (who doesn’t really like cinnamon) took his first bite and coughed and said, “Wow, I don’t want to do the cinnamon challenge while I eat my dinner!” Yet he kept eating and even took seconds.

Also, I purchased “sweet potatoes” and not yams. I believe the ones in the picture are yams, which is why they are more orange.

And a little tip… when I read other reviews they suggested lining the pan with foil, which I did. I’m very grateful! It made clean up way easier than it would have been if I had brown sugar cooked on to my baking dish!

Going in the oven: 

All done! 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
