Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Stuffed Jalapenos

The Pin:     (Click on the picture to follow the pin to the recipe)

The Verdict: Crap… but possibly because I didn’t read the tips 

I absolutely love jalapeno poppers and sausage and cheese… so this sounded AMAZING! I found it on Pinterest, and it was instantly repinned by a bunch of people.

It looks really easy, mix some sausage, cream cheese, cheddar, and onions together, put them in a jalapeno and bake. Well… it was mostly easy. Seeding the jalapeno was a pain in the butt. I tried using a paring knife and it took quite a while. Unfortunately after the fact, I went back and read the tips at the bottom of this post and she suggested using a lemon zester or a melon baller. Hmmm… that probably would have helped.

Normally when I eat jalapeno poppers i just pick it up and take a giant bite. For some reason I decided to cut a little piece and try it first. I’m so glad I did! My mouth was on fire! I eat hot food all the time… but this really got to me. There is no way I could have handled a giant bite. Honestly, the jalapeno was so spicy that I ended up just eating the sausage and cheese mixture out of several of them and not even touching the jalapenos. Again, reading the tips might have helped… the poster suggests putting the jalapenos in a bowl with running water to remove some of the heat. Guess that would have helped too!

So overall, I still believe these have potential… but mine were crap. I wish I would have read the tips through and I’ll probably make these again following those tips.

4 comments on “Stuffed Jalapenos

  1. recipeshappen
    August 31, 2012

    Aw, I’m sorry your poppers didn’t come out well!
    I love making jalapeno poppers, and I’m not a fan of really hot things, and they’re perfect for me!!
    I hope you have better luck next time. 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    • whynotgiveitatry
      September 3, 2012

      How do you make yours so they aren’t too hot? Do you soak them in water like the recipe suggested?

      • recipeshappen
        September 3, 2012

        I make sure to cut all the ribs and seeds out of the peppers; but that’s all and they’ve never been too hot! Hmm…
        Another idea would be to try using anaheim peppers; they are slightly larger than jalapenos but have a great flavor, are not quite as hot, and make great poppers.
        http://recipeshappen.com/2012/06/30/jalapeno-poppers/
        That is a link to my post about making them with anaheims, and also a link to the recipe, on my sister’s site.
        Hope that helps!!

  2. Kathy A
    September 10, 2012

    My thought is to try Hatch Chilis with this recipe! After all it is the season!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , .
