Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Crescent Pizza Rolls

The Pin:  

(Click picture to follow pin to recipe)

The Verdict: Success!

I saw this pin and was intrigued. My husband loves pizza and I thought this would be a fun game night snack. I decided to try it out! I altered the original recipe slightly. For one, I already had shredded mozzarella, so I used that instead of string cheese. Also, I was in the middle of making them and my husband came in and said, “What? No sauce!?” He didn’t like the idea of dipping them in the pizza sauce so I made half the batch without sauce and on the other half I spread a thin layer of pizza sauce over the dough before I added the toppings.

Toppings added:  

Finished product:  

They were easy to make. A bit messy, but only because I chose to use shredded cheese and smear sauce over them. If you do it my way, i’d suggest not doing it on the baking sheet, but rolling them first, then placing them on the sheet.

We actually decided to have them with some fruit for lunch. We tried the rolls without sauce first (or really, with sauce on the side), and then the ones with sauce. We both agreed we liked the ones with the sauce spread on them rather than the ones without that we had to dip in sauce.

I’d definitely suggest these for a fun pizza alternative. They’d be a fun party snack, or lunch for little ones (or husbands) that love pizza. Next time I might mix it up and add some peppers or other toppings to add some more flavors.

One comment on “Crescent Pizza Rolls

  1. recipeshappen
    September 9, 2012

    Those look fabulous!
    I’d probably use the shredded cheese, too, because I get better sales on that than on cheese sticks (I don’t usually use those). YUM!!

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

Leave a Reply

