Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Baked Oatmeal Casserole

The Pin:     

(Click the image to follow the pin to the recipe.)

The Verdict: Mostly a success

The pin I saw said, “Baked Oatmeal Casserole… bake at night, eat for the rest of the week.” Breakfast is one of my weaknesses. I know it’s important and I need it, but I can never get myself going in time to eat a true breakfast. Those instant breakfast drinks are generally my entire breakfast. I love fruit and oatmeal, so I was pretty excited about the idea of just having something in the fridge waiting for me that wasn’t milk and powder. 🙂

I used strawberries instead of raspberries because that’s what I had. It was easy to make and put together. When the time was up it still looked pretty moist, so I let it cook a little extra. I probably should have left it in even longer though…

Which brings me to my verdict… It was good. I love all the ingredients. I loved having breakfast ready all week without having to do anything! My one complaint though is that it was a little soggy. It wasn’t too bad Monday, but by Friday it felt like it was super soggy. I’m thinking that it could be fixed easily by keeping it in the oven a little longer, or putting a little less liquid in it next time. Overall though, it was good and I think I’ll definitely try it again!

Mixing it all together:

  

Before it went in the oven:

One comment on “Baked Oatmeal Casserole

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Baked Oatmeal | Why Not Give It a Try?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
