Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Addicting Sweet and Sour Chicken

I’ve seen several pins for this recipe, the two main ones I have seen are:

     

(Click each image to follow the pin to the recipes)

The Verdict: A success if you have time and like sweet and sour chicken a lot. Otherwise, skip it.

I keep seeing these pins, which are to two blogs that have virtually the same recipe for this “amazing” and “addicting” chicken that is only 7 Weight Watchers points. The only difference is that one uses white vinegar and the other uses apple cider vinegar.

Anyways, it wasn’t hard to make the chicken, but it was more time consuming than just combining ingredients, which I’m used to doing for dinners. You have to dip the raw chicken in cornstarch, then eggs, then cook on the stove top for a short while… then bake it for an hour. Again, it wasn’t hard… but my feet hurt from work and I wasn’t loving standing at the stove dipping chicken and cooking it, even with my amazing husband’s help.

The sauce was easy though, just mix together and pour over chicken. Pretty simple.

The results were good. I made quinoa and put the chicken on that. The chicken was good, I enjoyed it. I’ll be honest though, I wasn’t addicted to it. It was a good, standard chicken dish. When I asked my husband what he thought of it he said, “It’s good, but I don’t think it was worth all the effort.” I totally agreed. I honestly, probably won’t make it again. However, if you have time and love sweet and sour chicken, then it’s probably worth a try.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
