Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Baked Quinoa Chicken Broccoli Casserole

The Pin: 

(Click image to follow pin.)

The Verdict: Success!!! (But I did tweak it a bit…)

I wasn’t feeling great today, so I decided I wanted some comfort food for dinner. My grandma used to make us chicken broccoli casserole all the time. I had seen this on Pinterest a few days ago and a friend told me that it’s become one of her family’s favorites. So I decided tonight would be a good time to give it a try!

I didn’t have any cream of chicken soup, so I followed the recipe she has for making it yourself. I really liked making it myself, I felt better knowing I knew what all the ingredients were. I also added two small chicken breasts to the recipe. I cooked them and shredded them because I thought it’d be tasty. Also, I added a bit of curry… just because my grandma used to put curry in her casserole, and I loved that flavor.

Basically, you need to cook chicken (if you’re adding it), broccoli, quinoa, and then mix everything together. Then bake. It’s pretty easy! After 35 minutes it was done and delicious. My husband and I both loved it. I will warn you, it’s dense. I thought I took a normal sized portion, ate it all, and now I feel super full. The recipe says the yield is 8 servings, and that’s probably pretty accurate.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
