Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

The Pin: (Click image to follow pin to recipe and blog)

 

 

The verdict: Crap! (Or at least I failed…)

The description I read on the pin said, “Cauliflower Crust Pizza WOW, this pizza is fantastic and if I never eat a real pizza crust again, I won’t even miss it. This cauliflower crust is firm, with great flavor, you can cut it like a regular pizza and pick up the slices and eat them with your hands. This recipe is just downright fabulous and everyone, kids and adults, who have tried a slice have loved it and couldn’t figure out the secret of the crust.”

Wow, what a glowing review! After reading that I really wanted to make it. My husband and I love pizza, and I thought this healthy crust would be fun to try on a homemade pizza night.

I cut the head of cauliflower and was careful to make sure it was super dry. Then I used the food processor. I believe I followed the directions step by step. I didn’t have any parchment paper or a silicon baking mat, so I put it on foil (maybe that was my mistake?). It looked like everything was going great, but when I took it out of the oven I tried to get it off the foil and the entire crust crumbled. There was no way pizza slices would have held up.

Then, I tasted it. It tasted like cauliflower with italian seasoning on it. It definitely didn’t taste like pizza crust. I knew it wouldn’t taste like a typical crust, but I thought it would taste less like cauliflower than it did. The cauliflower taste was pretty strong. My husband definitely wouldn’t have liked it. I will say that I know with pizza sauce, cheese, and toppings, the cauliflower taste would have been disguised.

If you’re looking for a crust alternative, it might be worth a try. (Especially if you like cauliflower and won’t mind the taste.) Be sure to use parchment paper or a baking mat! Also, maybe add something more to bind all the ingredients?

My crust pre baking: (I wish I had thought to take a picture after it crumbled.)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
