Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Apple Apple Pie

The Pin: (click image to follow pin to recipe)

The Verdict: Mostly a success

Just look at the picture! Aren’t they cute? I love apple pie, and I thought this would be a fun and different way to try to make it.

First you scoop out the insides of the apple. I tried really hard to scoop it out carefully and preserve it to use on the insides. I was completely incapable of that. It came out in little mashed up chunks. It was also pretty tricky to remove the insides without puncturing the peel. Two of the apples got punctured when I was doing this. The core it pretty dense, so it was hard for me to get it out gently. The bottom of the apple was also tricky…

Filling the inside and making the top crust is basically the same as making an apple pie. So, that wasn’t too challenging.

I baked them and when they were done they looked cute. I can’t believe I forgot to take a picture!!

Eating it was a bit of a challenge. I took a knife and cut it in half. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to just eat the insides, or the peel too… but I wanted to eat the peel. That’s part of the fun, right? The bottom was pretty thick, but that was probably my fault. It would have tasted better if I had carved the bottom out better. I also wasn’t sure where to put the vanilla ice cream. I wanted ice cream with my pie, so after I cut it in half I put ice cream on top of it. Unfortunately, it didn’t look all that cute anymore.

Over all though, it was cute and tasted great! It took some work to hollow out the apple, so you have to be willing to put in the time and effort… if you’re not, just make a normal pie. If you want something special though, this is a fun idea!

 

2 comments on “Apple Apple Pie

  1. katie
    October 27, 2012

    Looks cute! But like more work than I’d expend for pie. 🙂

    • whynotgiveitatry
      October 27, 2012

      Yeah… that was kind of my thought. Not worth the work unless the whole point was to make an extra special looking dessert.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
