Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Pinterest’s “World’s Best Chicken”

The Pin: (Click on the image to follow the pin to the recipe.)

The Verdict: Good… but not the world’s best chicken.

The Recipe: (From http://rachelschultz.com/2012/07/11/worlds-best-chicken/)

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
Salt & pepper
Rosemary

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix together mustard, syrup, and vinegar. Place chicken breasts into 9×13 greased baking dish. Season with salt & lots of pepper. Pour mustard mixture over chicken. Make sure each breast is coated. 

Bake for about 30-40 minutes, until fully cooked.Season with chopped rosemary.

The blogger who posted this recipe says she’ll own the claim that this is the World’s Best Chicken. That’s quite a claim, so of course I had to give it a try! It was quick and easy to make. The sauce is just a quick mix of dijon, maple syrup, and vinegar. Pour that over chicken breast that’s salted and peppered, bake, and then garnish with rosemary. That easy!

As it cooked, the smell consumed my house. It was an intriguing smell, a sweet maple, mustard smell. I’ve never smelled anything like it before. The tasted matched the smell, but was much more subtle. The flavor was mostly from the dijon, but you could taste the hints of maple syrup and rosemary. At times I found myself thinking, “what am I eating?” The flavor combination was definitely new to me. I think that’s part of the fun though.

To be honest, I’m not sure I’ll make this again though. There are so many chicken recipes that are just as easy that I prefer. It was good, but in my opinion, far from the World’s Best Chicken. I’m still searching for my absolute favorite chicken dish. Hopefully I’ll find one that lives up to that title.

One comment on “Pinterest’s “World’s Best Chicken”

  1. trixfred30
    November 18, 2012

    I think the world`s best chicken recipe is roast chicken!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , .
