Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

“The Best Way to Cook Zucchini and Carrots”

The Pin: (Click picture to follow pin to recipe.)

 

(Photo from Voracious Vander)

The Verdict: A Success!

Recipe: (From http://voraciousvander.com/2011/12/05/the-best-way-to-cook-zucchini-and-carrots/)

1. Preheat oven to 220 C/425 F

2. Cut your veg into 8-cm/3-inch sticks, making sure they are even in thickness.

3. Line a baking tray with baking paper and a light layer of olive oil.

4. SEASON – go with the usual salt&pepper and branch out to one or two of the following: paprika, cumin, cayenne, crushed red peppers, thyme, rosemary, sage… 

Lightly toss your vegetable batons with a tablespoon or so of olive oil (not too much) and the herbs and spices.

5. Spread your seasoned veg over your lined tray and roast, tossing halfway through, for about 20 minutes or until golden and slightly browned at the edges.

My husband and I like our vegetables – but we’re also pretty picky about how we eat them and which ones we eat. So, in an effort to eat more vegetables and cook them in a variety of ways I decided to try this. I’ve never made carrots as a side on their own before, but we both like carrots so I decided to give it a try.

It was easy to do, some olive oil and seasoning. The blog suggested several seasonings and I settled on salt, pepper, and cumin. Then bake for about 20 minutes.

When they were done they were delicious! The carrots were crispy and soft at the same time – I can’t totally describe it. The flavor was great! I could still taste the carrot nicely, but the salt, pepper and cumin added a nice touch. My husband and I ate them quickly and fought over the last few. I wished I had made more. After dinner he wanted ice cream and I wanted more carrots. Seriously, they were that good.

I’ll definitely be making these again. The site also suggests other veggies, which I’d like to try. Maybe even with the carrots.

Added 9/2/13: I think I make these carrots nearly once a week. They’re delicious!! Here are some of our carrots from dinner tonight which I seasoned with lemon olive oil, garlic, and Monterey Steak Seasoning.

IMG_3124

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2012 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
