Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Spicy Thai Noodles

The Pin: (Click on image to follow pin to the original blog.)

spicy thai noodles

The Verdict: A Success

_____________________________________________________________________

The Recipe (from Small Snippet):

Combine 1-2 tablespoons crushed red pepper, 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup sesame oil in a small pan. Cook over medium heat for 2 minutes. Strain out crushed pepper, but keep the oil. Add 6 tablespoons honey and 6 tablespoons soy sauce to oil and whisk together.

Boil a package of linguine or angle hair pasta. Drain and put in a large bowl. Pour liquid mixture on top of noodles and toss together until noodles are well coated.

Chop up 1/2 cup green onions, 2 carrots peeled and shredded, 1/2 cup cilantro and 3/4 cups peanuts. Before serving, sprinkle these items on top of each bowl of noodles. 

_____________________________________________________________________

The comment to the pin that I saw said, “Spicy Thai Noodles – best pinterest recipe I’ve tried by far!!! Took 20 mins to make and is restaurant quality. We were amazed :)” I’m not sure I’d go that far, but we did enjoy it.

The recipe is pretty quick and easy to make. Maybe not 20 minutes quick… at least not for me. However, it didn’t take much longer than a half hour. I had never cooked pepper in oil and then strained it, so I wasn’t completely sure how long to cook the oil for. I know it says 2 minutes, but is that 2 minutes from when it’s hot, or 2 minutes total? Anyway, the rest was easy, just some mixing, chopping, and combining.

I only made half the recipe, since it was just for two of us. A whole box of pasta seemed like way too much! I also, used a little less than 1 T red pepper since my husband doesn’t love food that’s too spicy. The blogger recommended 1 T and I think that would have been fine, but ours still had good flavor from the pepper. I changed one more thing too, I added chopped chicken to the recipe. I felt like adding some protein to it would be nice and I had some chicken in the freezer.

All in all, my husband and I liked the pasta. I think I liked it more than he did, it was a bit oily for him. However, I will definitely make it again!

Our pasta:

IMG_2576

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2013 by in pinterest, Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , .
