Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

The Pin: (Click the pin’s image to follow it to the original blog.)

6525d154a62856509503fc548add9ef8

 

The Verdict: Fail. 

Look at that picture, looks good, doesn’t it? I absolutely love jalapeno poppers… I was so dang excited for this dinner. However, it was a complete fail.

The recipe was easy enough to follow. However, when I followed the cooking instructions something went terribly long. It said to cook on medium-high heat in a skillet for 8 minutes on each side. After 8 minutes I went to check on it and it was super burned. Common sense probably tells you to check it more often than that, and not to wait until the timer goes off. Unfortunately I had that thought about 4 minutes too late.

Anyways, my chicken was waaaayyy over cooked. Not only was the outside black, but the inside was dry. I tried to eat the cream cheese and jalapeno mixture and I didn’t even like the flavor of it. It may be connected to the overcooking, but honestly, I don’t think I would have liked it even if it hadn’t burned. On the original blog, dealwisemommy.net there are many comments about it being a success. The recipe came from allrecipes.com, where it got 4.5 stars. I normally trust allrecipes.com, so maybe it is a good recipe and doesn’t deserve to be written off. However, trying it again is going to be pretty low on my priority list.

My very burned, yucky chicken… looks just like the picture, huh? You can’t even tell there is panko on the outside because the burned cream cheese took over. Whoops.

P1010699

 

P1010701

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2013 by in pinterest, Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , .
