Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Ice Cream in a Bag

The Pin: (Click on the image to follow the pin to its original blog)

d517850f74dbcf2c9503f7df14f29524

The Verdict: Crap.

I was really craving homemade ice cream tonight, but I was impatient and didn’t want to wait for the whole process. I also didn’t have all the ingredients for my fav recipe, and going to the store seemed silly just for my random craving.

However, after dinner I was mindlessly scrolling through Pinterest and this pin caught my eye. A single serving of ice cream that can be made in 5 minutes… and I had all the ingredients? Definitely had to try!

It takes 1/2 cup of half and half or milk (I used milk), 1 TBS sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. You just put them in a sandwich sized ziplock bag, then place that bag along with ice and rock salt inside a gallon bag and shake for 5 minutes. Easy!

photo-19

I was super skeptical, but as time went along it became apparent that the milk mixture really was hardening. It got cold on my hands, so I made my husband take over. After a little more than 5 minutes we poured it out into a bowl and it actually looked like ice cream!

photo-18

Looked is about it though. It tasted like nothing. Maybe some milk… or frozen water? And the texture was pretty chunky. There were a few salty bites, which I’m assuming was from the melted ice and rock salt finding a way to seep into the bag. Kids might find this fun and it’s cheap and easy. However, I suggest adults who like their ice cream to steer clear. This frozen milk mixture is definitely not vanilla ice cream.

4 comments on “Ice Cream in a Bag

  1. trixfred30
    March 24, 2013

    You sometimes wonder whether the people that post some recipes ever actually try them out,

    • whynotgiveitatry
      March 24, 2013

      I definitely wonder that. That’s why I decided to start this blog and try things out that I find online. Some of the things have turned out to be excellent, while others like this ice cream in a bag were complete failures.

      • trixfred30
        March 25, 2013

        I poached an egg in cling film once – it worked but someone else tried it and it failed big time – I somehow felt personally accountable…

      • whynotgiveitatry
        March 25, 2013

        Yeah, sometimes I feel bad when I write that something didn’t work. I worry that I just messed up and it would have worked for someone else… I guess that’s just how it is though, right? Somethings are going to work sometimes and won’t others… all we can do is share our own experiences.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2013 by in Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , .
