Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Breakfast Coffee Protein Shake

The Pin:  (Click picture to follow pin to the original blog.)

pinterestsmoothie

The Verdict: A Success! 

I have been trying to eat/drink breakfast lately. I have always been horrible about having breakfast. I know it’s important, but I constantly find myself running late in the morning. A few weeks ago I decided to try to start having protein shakes for breakfast so I could drink them on my way or even while I’m at work. I came across this pin on Pinterest a while ago, and finally decided to try it.

This shake is made by combining 2 handfuls of ice, 1 scoop of vanilla or chocolate protein powder (I used vanilla), half of a frozen banana, 1 cup of brewed coffee, 1 cup of milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk), and truvia if desired (I didn’t).

I like bananas, and it seemed easier to just throw the whole banana in, so I strayed from the recipe and added the whole thing. I highly suggest you don’t do this. My smoothie tasted like a banana coffee smoothie. Not my favorite. However, I tried it again with only half a banana and it tasted great.

I have been drinking my coffee and my protein shakes separately in the mornings, but I just may start to combine them like this!

My shake: 

photo-23

10 comments on “Breakfast Coffee Protein Shake

  1. Marilyn Davidson
    September 18, 2015

    Question: Did you put this in a blender…sorry if that’s a dumb question.

    • Laura H.
      September 19, 2015

      Yes, you do. I can’t believe I didn’t include that important fact. Thank you!

  2. Alexis
    October 26, 2015

    What kind of results does the shake give you? Energy and health wise?

  3. Christine Sahli Potter
    November 5, 2015

    I like to freeze my coffee in ice cube tray and make coffee ice cubes. Then as the ice melts it does not water down your drink 🙂

  4. Pingback: Breakfast Coffee Protein Shake | Books, Coffee, and Crafts News

  5. Jessica
    December 3, 2015

    What protein powder do you use?! There are so many to choose from. I feel like half the protein powders are for those who are trying to build muscle, I just want something to add to my smoothies to help me eat a little healthier in the am! They also all come in such huge containers and you only need one scoop for a smoothie so that worries me as well.

  6. Christine
    December 30, 2015

    What kind of protein powder are you using?

  7. April
    January 8, 2016

    Great recipe! Where did you get that awesome tumbler for your shake?

  8. Julianne
    February 23, 2016

    If you only use half of a banana, does it have a banana taste? I have been looking up a lot of protein shake recipes and they all have bananas in them, but I am not a fan of things tasting like bananas.

  9. heather
    February 24, 2016

    Did you put the coffee in hot?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2013 by in pinterest, Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , .
