Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Taco Cheeseburgers

The other night I asked my husband what he wanted for dinner. We had ground beef so I suggested either tacos or cheeseburgers. He replied, “both!” We started joking about how we could make both. If only there was a way we could have tacos and burgers together… that’d be the best of both worlds! It dawned on us – we can have both! We decided to make burgers with everything you would use to make tacos. They turned out pretty tasty.

photo-24

For those of you that like specific recipes, this is my first attempt to share a recipe of my own and I don’t cook in specifics, sorry! The way I see it cooking is best when you add the flavors and textures you like at a ratio you know you and your family will enjoy. I’d still like to share what I did though, but hopefully you can take this idea and adapt it for your taste buds.

I used:

  • About 1.25 pounds of ground beef (we like meat with lower fat, but others like more fat for juicy burgers)
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • Diced green onions (just a bit to add some flavor)
  • Cholula sauce or another kind of hot sauce if you like spice
  • 4 slices of pepper jack cheese (or whatever cheese you like)
  • Hamburger Buns (I like the whole wheat kind)
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Salsa
  • Any other condiments you like to add to your burger – my husband can’t have a burger without ketchup…

First I put the ground beef in a mixing bowl. I added the taco seasoning, diced green onions, and cholua to the ground beef and then mixed it together with my hands. It took a little while to get everything evenly incorporated, but you want to be sure to mix everything really well. Next I separated the meat into 4 equal amounts. Then I pressed them into flat, tight patties. Almost done!

My husband then grilled the burgers, adding pepper jack cheese the last few minutes of grilling. We topped them with our favorite toppings. I used lettuce and some salsa. I know my mom would definitely put some lettuce, tomatoes, and onions on hers! Go crazy, get creative!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
