Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Grilled Texas Turkey Burger

The Pin:

betty crocker turkey burger

The Verdict: Iffy.     (I’m not sure if that’s a real verdict, but it’s the first word that comes to mind.)

Look at that burger! It looks delicious, right? Well, one night I was craving burgers and came across this picture. I read the recipe and it sounded so delicious. So I made it. Great, right? Not exactly… this recipe reminded me of one very important thing: ALWAYS READ THE COMMENTS ABOUT THE RECIPE BEFORE YOU MAKE IT.

The recipe is from Betty Crocker:

1 pound ground turkey

1/2 cup BBQ sauce

4.5 ounces of chopped green chiles, drained

4 slices of pepper jack cheese

4 hamburger buns. 

To make the burgers, you just combine the turkey, BBQ sauce and chilies and then divide and pat into 4 hamburgers and grill, putting the cheese on at the end.

Once I made the patties I noticed that they were incredibly moist. We were worried about the patties staying together so we cooked them on a little grill tray I have. The patties were difficult to put on the grill and even more difficult to flip. When they were all finished we tried to remove them from the grill and some of them didn’t come off the grill in one piece. Whoops.

photo-33

Eating the burgers was just as tricky. They fell apart like crazy! It tasted more like sloppy joes than an actual hamburger patty. The flavor was decent, you can’t go wrong with turkey, BBQ sauce, chiles and pepper jack. However, it wasn’t amazing and the texture was weird to me. When we finished eating I went back to the site and looked over the comments and realized that pretty much everyone had the same problem. Some people fixed it by adding bread crumbs. Others suggested less BBQ sauce. Man, if only I had read that before my sloppy joe, fall apart burgers…

photo-34

All in all, I don’t suggest these burgers. At least not without some changes. I’m convinced there are way better Southwest BBQ type turkey burgers out there that will actually wow you instead of leaving you thinking, “I guess they were edible.”

Leave a Reply

