Why Not Give It a Try?

How else will you know if a pin is a success or crap?

Crispy Chicken Burritos

The Pin:    (Click on picture to follow pin to the original blog.)

Crispy Southwest Chicken Wraps

The Verdict: A Success!

This is a wonderful, versatile recipe! For the exact recipe, please click on the picture above. There are also a lot of other great recipes on her site (Mel’s Kitchen Cafe). Basically, you want to combine your favorite burrito ingredients. I chose to combine leftover grilled chicken, a box of mexican rice, green onions, yellow bell peppers, and black beans. Then you put the ingredients into a flour tortilla and put a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of cheese… then roll it up! On a pre-heated skillet (medium heat) you just put the burrito down for a minute or two for each side and it’s done!

I absolutely love Mexican food and I’ve had a lot of it. However, I’ve never had this flavor combination mixed with the crispiness of the flour tortilla. Eating a warm and crispy burrito definitely takes these flavors to the next level! It was quite delicious and it will become one of our regular meals. The great thing about it is that you can adapt it to the type of meat, rice and veggies you have. Mix your favorite flavors together, then roll up and cook for a few minutes. Fast, easy and healthy!

My burritos:

photo-31

3 comments on “Crispy Chicken Burritos

  1. misscaramichele
    June 2, 2013

    This looks great! I wouldn’t have thought about cooking it this way, even though I like to make my own “hard” taco shells. I will be trying this out for sure!

    • whynotgiveitatry
      June 3, 2013

      I thought it was a nice little twist that was easy and made a difference. You should definitely try it and let me know what you think!

      • misscaramichele
        June 3, 2013

        I will! We need to cook together when summer starts, as well!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in pinterest, Recipe Attempts and tagged , , , , , , , .